Got inked.

The seed has been planted. The first domino has fallen.

They say very few people only have one tattoo because after the first, you always want to go back for more.

Getting a tattoo was never anything I would have imagined I would do. I had kind of thought about it, like, ‘ya that would be nice’ – but nothing had happened, or meant enough to me, that inspired me to want to ink it onto my body forever. Until I got to London, and went to Norway. Until my life transformed. Until I felt a transformation occurring inside me. A transformation that spurred on a sequence of events that led me to go to Angel in North London on Friday afternoon, 12 August 2011, a celebratory day already for me, to get a tattoo of the words Jeg elsker deg on my wrist.

The tattoo is for me. To remind me that if i love me, no matter what, everything will always fall into place. To remind me of this time. To remind me that in fear, i must look to love. It’s written in Norwegian for many reasons, because of my soul sister, Nosizwe Baqwa who taught me Jeg elsker deg when we were ten years old in junior school – and i have never forgotten those words, because my magical trip to Oslo this year reconnected me with myself. And whats coincidental, is that a week after i returned from Oslo, they experienced their worst massacre in history. And i watched, online, all the Norwegians come together in love. Not war. But love. And that, my friends, is inspiring and something we can all learn from.

I feel amazing. Doing something for me, like this, has made me feel more IN myself than ever before.

Life is good. Just for today.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Got inked.

  1. I totally get that. I felt like that too, about my tattoo – its personal and people who try to pick it apart and analyse it are the ones who will never understand.

    You are awesome (and I say this not only because we have the same name)

  2. Totally. You know what my mother said? ‘What are you going to do on your wedding day, with your beautiful white dress?’ – that, my fellow Amy is the definition of misunderstanding. I mean really. Please note, I am not engaged, and even if i was planning on getting married who said I was planning on wearing a white dress? Cripes. That poor box she wants me to fit in will be empty forever.

  3. Please tell your mother she is welcome to buy me a white wedding dress if I ever get engaged/ married- I’m looking for one with real diamonds, forget swarovski crystals. As a bonus she can play with my hair 😀

Leave a Reply

