Ash cloud weekend.

Gareth's flat looks over the harbour - the big building there on the right.
Sausage Land.

I made it to Hamburg despite the airport closing on Wednesday due to lame ash cloud. I went to Gatwick on Wednesday afternoon from work not knowing if I was going to make it on the plane. Spent the majority of the day checking every 5 seconds on the Easy Jet website if my flight number was added to the flight cancellation list. All other flights from Gatwick to Hamburg had been cancelled that day so I was very lucky. I must say, its a good thing I made it, otherwise I may have banged my head against a wall like they did in Girl Interrupted.  The build up to a reunion between two loved ones is no joke. I was packed and emotionally prepared. This ash cloud was not going to get in my way.

The day closed with me in the arms of the man I love and dont get to see very much. Nothing could be more satisfying than that. Plus, I bought masses of Lindt and Toberlone at Duty Free which contributed to the overall satisfaction.

Since my arrival, I have spent a lot of time in bed, writing and reading while Gareth has been working. Other activities include bike-riding, meditative-walking, finishing the Lindt balls, eating German-Chinese, watching House, sleeping, eating more Toblerone, taking pictures and loads of cuddling etc…

Gareth was out of work for some time, but now has it coming in from all sides. When it rains, it pours. Why is that? So bizarre. Such is the life of a freelancer.

So I leave you with some pics of my couple of days here so far. The streets are so quiet here compared to London. So peaceful. And so pretty in Spring. I really felt the robust yet relaxed energy that Hamburg has to offer on my walk yesterday. And I enjoyed the street art, too.

Queen Mary
Leave a Reply

