over the seas.

I leave for London on February 4th. Many people question why I am making this move. There has been criticism and judgement.  The great thing is i don’t need to justify myself or anything to anyone in this world because the only person’s opinion that matters in situations like these, is mine. Only I have to be happy, comfortable with my decisions. And usually, when people are judging, they are only trying to make themselves feel better about their own lives. Apparently attempting to put people down is how they try to achieve this but my theory is they are only left feeling even more empty and hopeless. Deep down.

So, i know its going to be cold. I know there is little sun. I know I will miss home. I know its going to be a struggle at times.

But i always have Cape. Town. I always have home. It will, a-l-w-a-y-s be here.

home. mine.

And experiences are priceless. I’m sure I will appreciate my home and my family and my life here so much more once I have left. But once I come home after years of experience abroad – meeting new people, learnings to things, overcoming challenges and visiting the most beautiful places in the world with the man i love – I will appreciate that too.

Nothing has felt more right.

And at times when I’m over there, it may feel really wrong. And I’m sure I will blog about that too. Thank goodness.  But isn’t that part if life? Or do we just remain comfortable. For.Ever. Thats my worst nightmare. Boredom. Complacency.

So, all the shit weather and shitness some of you are convinced I will encounter, aside… here are the things I look forward to, over the seas.


via xxrens.blogspot.com

 

 

 

  • Cooking dinner with my very special brother who i have not lived with since i was 14.
  • Shopping for  new winter boots.
  • Wearing new winter boots.
  • Visiting Vida in Regent St. Not for the coffee, for the familiarity.
  • Travelling to and from anywhere, on my own, using my own two feet, not 4 wheels.
  • Finding my new comfort foods. Here ,it’s ouma rusks and lindt. There, what will they be?
  • Seeing old friends.
  • Buying a beanie.
  • Buying a scarf.
  • Buying gloves.
  • Wearing my new beanie, scarf and gloves.
  • Hot coffee on a cold morning.
  • Running in the cold.
  • Discovering new places and things.
  • Travelling to Germany to visit my love.
  • Weekend in the South of France, Saint Tropez to be exact.
  • Even if its expensive, I will go to at least one show before I am broke.
  • Journal writing in coffee shops.
  • Blogging in coffee shops.
  • Fast internet.
  • New job.
  • New challenges.
  • Overcoming new challenges.

 

need i say more.

Feel free to add to this list. I would appreciate it if you did, actually.

xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “over the seas.

  1. i love london. i miss it all the time. i often think about going back (if only visas weren’t an issue.) i love cold weather more than hot weather. the shopping is amazing. paris is a train ride away. the public transport is awesome. i can’t put into words how beautiful the british countryside is. bbc / itv have some of the funniest shows on the planet. eating at leon & pret. drinking in pubs. having the opportunity to see about a million live bands. going to huge music festivals. buying cheap cosmetics at boots (which is EXACTLY like clicks.) buying cheap clothes at H&M + primark. buying great clothes at zara. wearing boots all the time. aaaaaah i could go on and on and on and on.

    I AM JEALOUS.

    enjoy it!

  2. Wowee, thank you Diana. I can’t believe I left out the music! I am lucky enough to have ancestry visa due to Scottish Grandmother. And an amazing brother to live for for a while. I cant wait.
    I also love the cold more than the hot.
    🙂

  3. One of the best things about living in a new place is those unexpected moments.. Something will happen, you will laugh and think, “Only in London!” It will put a smile on your face for the whole day, maybe even a week.
    Like one morning, I was sitting with Alison having brunch in the Castro. We were on one of the main hub streets and it was pouring with rain outside. This man walked out of his apartment completely naked, wearing only rain boots, carrying a full day backpack and an umbrella and he proceeded to walk calmly down the street like it was any other day. We were in hysterics wondering what was in his backpack? His clothes? Only in San Francisco….

Leave a Reply

